England Rugby / England squad announced for QBE Internationals


England squad announced for QBE Internationals

The QBE European headquarters this morning played host to the England Rugby coaches as the squad for the upcoming QBE Internationals was announced.

Talk was largely around previously uncapped Mako Vunipola and Tom Youngs making the squad, as well as the return of Ugo Monye and James Haskell.

The 32-strong squad will meet at the Football Association's brand new sports training and development centre St George's Park in Burton on Sunday, ahead of the first game against Fiji at Twickenham on 10 November.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "As a coaching team we can't wait to go into camp and get the guys focused on what will be a massive challenge in the QBE Internationals - Fiji and then the three major Southern Hemisphere teams in successive weeks.

"It's great to be able to give Mako a chance in the squad. He has come through our age grade sides and made a real impact at Saracens. Likewise Tom Youngs, who was with us on tour in South Africa, and we know what James Haskell and Ugo Monye are capable of if they get their opportunity."

The England captain is set to be announced by Lancaster at St George's Park next Tuesday.

As a nod to the upcoming clashes between the England team and the best of the Southern Hemisphere, the England players and coaching staff were greeted by five giant rugby balls in Fenchurch Street, outside the HQ of the leading business insurer - one for England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Fiji.

The full squad for the QBE Internationals:

Forwards (17):

Mouritz Botha (Saracens), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (London Wasps), Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs), Courtney Lawes. (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Tom Palmer (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Backs (15): 

Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers), Chris Ashton (Saracens), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)